Society Meetings

The LMS runs an annual programme of Society Meetings, including the three regional meetings (Midlands, Northern, South West and South Wales) and those held in London. The Programme Committee oversees the meetings, with the exception of the Mary Cartwright Lecture, for which the Women in Mathematics Committee selects the speakers.

Formal business of the Society takes place at the beginning of the meeting, including the opportunity for members to sign the Membership Book, which has been in use since 1866.

Members and non members are welcome to attend the meetings and registration is not necessary.

Forthcoming meetings





 16 June 2014  Loughborough  Midlands Regional Meeting 

 Gigliola Staffilani 

 Werner Mueller

 Alexander Pushnitski

 4 July 2014  London  Hardy Lecture and General Meeting of the Society

 Percy Deift (Hardy Lecturer)

 Nina Snaith (Bristol)

19 August 2014

 Seoul, South Korea  Society Meeting at the ICM 2014  Jean-Pierre Bourguignon
6 September 2014   London  Mathematics and the First World War

 Reinhard Siegmund-Schultze

David Aubin

June Barrow-Green

Rossana Tazzioli

Deborah Kent

Joseph Dauben  

14 November 2014  London  AGM and Naylor Lecture

 Naylor Lecture: Nick Trefethen 

Second speaker: tbc

Further details of future meetings to follow