

# LMS SOCIETY AND GENERAL MEETING 2017

Friday 30 June 2017 at 3.30pm at BMA House, Tavistock Square, London

## **AGENDA**

- 1. Opening of the Meeting and LMS Business
- 2. Resolutions:
  - 2.1 <u>Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, held on 11 November 2016</u>
  - 2.2 Appointment of Scrutineers
  - 2.3 <u>Elections to Honorary Membership</u>
- 3. Announcement of LMS Prize winners for 2017
- 4. Sheehan Olver (Imperial)

The Sokhotski-Plemelj theorem, singular integrals, and solving PDEs

Tea break

5. Gwyneth Stallard (Open)

Complex analysis and complex dynamics: fruitful interactions

Fiona Nixon, Executive Secretary 7 June 2017

## LONDON MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

#### **MINUTES**

Of the Annual General Meeting of the Society held on 11 November 2016 at BMA House, London

#### 1.0 ELECTIONS TO COUNCIL AND NOMINATING COMMITTEE

1.1 The President, Professor Simon Tavaré, welcomed attendees to the meeting. He explained that all Members had been sent material in respect of the elections to Council and Nominating Committee and requested that anyone present who had not returned a ballot paper and wished to do so should hand it to the Scrutineers present (Professors Chris Lance and Rodney Sharp) at this point. No ballot papers were handed to the Scrutineers.

#### 2.0 REVIEW OF SOCIETY ACTIVITIES 2015-16

2.1 Vice-President Professor John Greenlees gave a presentation on the Society's activities in 2015-16. He noted that the celebrations for the Society's 150<sup>th</sup> Anniversary year had concluded with a reception in January 2016. The Society had held a number of scientific meetings and lectures throughout 2015-16. The Society had signed new publishing contracts with Wiley, Foundation Compositio Mathematica and Cambridge University Press. Vice-President Greenlees noted that 1,865 articles had been submitted to the Society and 435 published during the year. The Society had been raising awareness of the value of mathematics and advocating on behalf of the discipline in a number of ways. A report published by the Council for the Mathematical Sciences (CMS), *Mathematical Sciences: Driving the UK economy*, had been launched at an event at the House of Parliament. The Society had submitted a large number of responses to various Government consultations. The Society was raising awareness with the general public through platforms such as social media and participating in Open House.

#### 3.0 REPORT OF THE TREASURER

3.1 The Treasurer gave a presentation on the Society's finances in 2015-16. He informed the meeting that the Society had awarded £742k in support of mathematical research and activities during the year, which included £198k for activities to support early career mathematicians. The Society continued with its membership drive and the number of new members was increasing steadily. The proportions of young members and female members had both increased and the Society now had nearly 60 Representatives within mathematical departments across the UK. The Society's Development Campaign continued, with the aim of raising money to support activities under threat. The Society had diversified its investment portfolio and its investments were now split between an investment fund, managed by Cazenove-Schroders, and residential property. The Treasurer provided an overview of the Society's income and expenditure for the year.

#### 4.0 RESOLUTIONS

- i) Adoption of the Trustees' Report including the year-end accounts for 2015-16
  - 4.1 Copies of the Trustees' Annual Report and Accounts 2015-16 had been circulated in advance to all members. The President recommended on behalf of Council the adoption of the Annual report and Accounts and asked members if they were in agreement.
  - 4.2 The resolution required a simple majority to be passed, and was passed unanimously.
- ii) Appointment of the Auditors
  - 4.3 Council proposed that Kingston Smith be appointed as the Society's Auditors for the current year, 2016-17. The President recommended on behalf of Council the approval of the reappointment of Kingston Smith and asked members if they were in agreement.
  - 4.4 The resolution required a simple majority to be passed, and was passed unanimously.

# 5.0 PRESENTATION OF THE CERTIFICATES TO THE 2016 LMS PRIZE WINNERS

5.1 The President, on Council's behalf, presented certificates to the following 2016 prizewinners:

De Morgan Medal: Professor Sir Timothy Gowers Frölich Prize: Professor Dominic Joyce

Whitehead Prizes: Dr Arend Bayer
Dr Jason Miller

Dr Jason Miller

Dr Carola Bibiane-Schönlieb

Anne Bennett Prize: Dr Julia Wolf

5.2 The winners of the Senior Berwick Prize, Dr Keisuke Hara and Professor Masanori Hino (jointly), and the winner of the fourth Whitehead Prize, Dr Gustav Holzegel, were unable to attend to collect their prizes.

## 6.0 PROFESSOR ALAN R. CHAMPNEYS, UNIVERSITY OF BRISTOL

6.1 Professor Alan Champneys gave a lecture titled *Bumps*, *blips and bulges: the theory of localised pattern formation*.

## 7.0 ELECTION RESULTS

7.1 Scrutineer Professor Chris Lance announced the results of the Council and Nominating Committee elections for 2015-16 as follows:

President: Professor Simon Tavaré

Vice-Presidents: Professor Ken Brown, Professor John Greenlees

Treasurer: Professor Robert Curtis

General Secretary: Professor Stephen Huggett Publications Secretary: Professor John Hunton Programme Secretary: Professor Iain Stewart Education Secretary: Professor Alice Rogers

Members-at-Large of Council: Professor Alexandre Borovik, Professor Tara Brendle, Dr Francis Clark, Professor David E Evans, Dr Cathy Hobbs, Dr

Sarah Zerbes

Member-at-Large (Librarian): Professor June Barrow-Green

Nominating Committee: Professor Simon Blackburn, Professor Roger Heath-Brown, Professor Marta Mazzocco, Professor Ulrike Tillmann

- 8.2 It was noted that the following five Members-at-Large who were elected for two years in 2015 had one year left to serve: Dr Tony Gardiner, Professor Sam Howison, Dr Diane Maclagan, Professor Gwyneth Stallard and Dr Alina Vdovina.
- 8.3 It was noted that the continuing members of Nominating Committee were: Professor John Toland (Chair), Professor Sarah Rees and Professor Alex Wilkie. One member of Council would also be nominated to the Nominating Committee.

## 8.0 PROFESSOR S. JON CHAPMAN, UNIVERSITY OF OXFORD

8.1 Professor Jon Chapman gave the Naylor Lecture, entitled *Asymptotics beyond all orders: the devil's invention?* 

#### 9.0 THANKS TO RETIRING MEMBERS

9.1 The President gave thanks to David Evans and Beatrice Pelloni, who were stepping down from Council as Members-at-Large, and to Terry Lyons, whose term as past president had concluded, for their service to the Society.