

De Morgan House 57-58 Russell Square London WC1B 4HS

Media release 3 July 2009

Embargoed until 15:30 hrs

London Mathematical Society Prizes 2009

The London Mathematical Society is pleased to announce this year's prize winners:

Pólya Prize – Professor Roger Heath-Brown, University of Oxford

Senior Whitehead Prize – Professor Vladimir Maz'ya, University of Liverpool

Naylor Prize and Lectureship – Professor Philip Maini, University of Oxford

Berwick Prize – Professor Joseph Chuang, City University London, and

Dr Radha Kessar, University of Aberdeen

Whitehead Prize - Dr Mihalis Dafermos, University of Cambridge

Whitehead Prize - Dr Cornelia Drutu, University of Oxford

Whitehead Prize - Professor Robert Marsh, University of Leeds

Whitehead Prize – Dr Markus Owen, University of Nottingham

The Council for the London Mathematical Society announced the prize winners at the Society Meeting held at University College London on 3 July. The awards will be presented at the Society's Annual General Meeting on 20 November.

PÓLYA PRIZE - awarded in recognition of outstanding creativity in, imaginative exposition of, or distinguished contribution to, mathematics within the United Kingdom

The Pólya Prize is awarded to **Professor Roger Heath-Brown**, of the University of Oxford, for his many contributions within analytic number theory, and his dynamic application of analytic methods in wideranging investigations of problems spanning number theory and arithmetic geometry.

Throughout his career, Heath-Brown has regularly produced papers that have resolved long-standing problems or have presented novel techniques that have decisively changed the landscape. He has been able to devise variations of well-established techniques that permit conclusions going well beyond what was previously thought to be possible. In consequence, he is responsible for many of the sharpest conclusions available in the most important problems stretching across analytic number theory and beyond.

SENIOR WHITEHEAD PRIZE – awarded in recognition of work in and influence on and service to mathematics; or lecturing gifts

The Senior Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Professor Vladimir Maz'ya**, of the University of Liverpool, in recognition of his contributions to the theory of differential equations.

Maz'ya's work has had a significant bearing on numerous areas in analysis and applied mathematics. He has been extraordinary prolific, having been an author of 20 mathematical monographs and over 420 research papers. He is a co-author of the first comprehensive biography of Hadamard published by the American Mathematical Society and London Mathematical Society.

NAYLOR PRIZE AND LECTURESHIP – awarded in recognition of work in and influence on Applied Mathematics or the Applications of Mathematics; or lecturing gifts

The Naylor Prize and Lectureship in Applied Mathematics is awarded to **Professor Philip Maini**, of the University of Oxford, in recognition of his contributions to, and influence on, the field of mathematical biology.

In recent years, mathematical biology has experienced very rapid growth, and has established itself as an area that is driving the evolution of much new mathematics, as well as having an increasing impact on the biological sciences. Maini has been at the forefront of many of these developments. Many of the problems that he studies necessitate the formulation and analysis of new models, requiring him to bring to bear both knowledge of the relevant biology and mathematical skills. He is unsurpassed by his peers at the art and science of formulating tractable mathematical models of complex biological processes.

BERWICK PRIZE— awarded to mathematicians with less than 15 years experience at the post doctoral level (allowing for career breaks), in respect of a definite piece of mathematical research actually published by the Society

The Berwick Prize is awarded, jointly to **Professor Joseph Chuang**, of City University London, and **Dr Radha Kessar**, of the University of Aberdeen, in respect of their joint paper *Symmetric Groups, Wreath Products, Morita Equivalences and Broué's Abelian Defect Conjecture*, which featured in the *Bulletin of the London Mathematical Society*.

WHITEHEAD PRIZES – awarded to mathematicians with less than 15 years experience at the post doctoral level (allowing for career breaks)

A Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Dr Mihalis Dafermos**, of the University of Cambridge, for his work on the rigorous analysis of hyperbolic partial differential equations in general relativity.

A Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Dr Cornelia Druţu**, of the University of Oxford, for her work in geometric group theory.

A Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Professor Robert Marsh**, of the University of Leeds, for his work on Representation Theory and especially for his research on cluster categories and cluster algebras.

A Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Dr Markus Owen**, of the University of Nottingham, for his contributions to the development of multiscale modelling approaches in systems medicine and biology.

ENDS

Notes for Editors

- 1. The **London Mathematical Society (LMS)** is the UK's learned society for mathematics. Founded in 1865 for the promotion and extension of mathematical knowledge, the Society is concerned with all branches of mathematics and its applications. It is an independent and self-financing charity, with a membership of over 2600 drawn from all parts of the UK and overseas. Its principal activities are the organisation of meetings and conferences, the publication of periodicals and books, the provision of financial support for mathematical activities, and the contribution to public debates on issues related to mathematics research and education. It works collaboratively with other mathematical bodies worldwide. It is the UK adhering body to the International Mathematical Union.
- 2. The LMS is a member of the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, which also comprises the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, the Royal Statistical Society, the Edinburgh Mathematical Society and the Operational Research Society.
- 3. Contact: Caroline Davis

Mathematics Promotion Unit De Morgan House 57–58 Russell Square London WC1B 4HS.

Tel: +44 (0)20 7927 0804. Email: caroline.davis@lms.ac.uk